Handshake offers a robust set of catalog visibility controls that allow you to control who can see which products, categories, and manufacturer lines. Using inactive products, you can hide products from your reps on the iOS app or form your customers on Handshake Direct.
- Inactive - sales rep will not be able to see the product in the iPad/iPhone app, nor will your buyers be able to see the product if browsing your catalog via Handshake Direct or interactive quotes. These products will still exist in your order history and will show up on your products spreadsheet when exporting from your account.
- Inactive for Customers - Sales reps will have access to products via the iPad/iPhone application, but your buyers will not be able to see or purchase these products if browsing your catalog via Handshake Direct or interactive quotes.
Common Use Cases
- Product catalog setup - When you are uploading a product line and setting up your catalog in prep for an upcoming season, but the products aren't ready to be sold. The products will exist in draft form in Handshake, but may not be ready for sale. You can hide these entire draft categories form both reps and customers.
- Product archiving - When you retire a product or product line, you can mark the product or category as inactive to remove them from the active catalog but maintain the order history and reporting functionality of Handshake
- Hiding products on Handshake Direct - If there are products that your reps can sell, but your buyers can't buy, you can hide products on Handshake Direct only. The most most common use case is to hide point-od-purchase displays and other in-store merchandising from customers.
Making Products Inactive Via Handshake Hub
From the product category tree view you can hide at all levels: from an individual product to an entire manufacturer's line. This is done by right clicking on the thing you want to make inactive and then via the pop up menu, choosing inactive or inactive for customers.
The screenshots below that demonstrate making a single product inactive for customers:
The screenshots below that demonstrate making an entire category inactive:
Making Products Inactive Via Bulk Import
When exporting a spreadsheet of your products via the bulk importer/exporter, you will notice two columns on your spreadsheet with the headers inactive and inactiveForCustomersOnly. Take a look at the screenshot below for reference:
For products you'd like to make inactive, whether it be for reps and customers or customers only, all you need to do is fill out the corresponding cell with a '1' instead of the '0'. If you save your changes to the spreadsheet and then reimport via the bulk importer/exporter, those products marked with the '1' will now be inactive.
If you have any additional questions regarding inactive products, please contact our support team here.